Home » Poems » Where the Heart is…

Where the Heart is…

I dreamt I was at home,
refreshed by the monsoon,
sipping tea from a gold-rimmed cup,
each sip flavoured differently-
ginger,cardamom, cinnamon and mint,
and many more flavours I can’t name.
My sister sitting on my lap,
reciting a rhyme-
the company of an angel
in God’s own country.
At a distance a mysterious bird
filled the air with its song.
The melody lulled me to sleep,
the noise kept my weary eyelids open.
I stretched out my hand,
desperate to possess a raindrop.
All I could catch was emptiness-
dry,stinking, suffocating.
Before disappointment could engulf me,
I closed my eyes…
to sleep for a few more minutes…

2 Comments

  1. Manu Kurup says:

    Made me want to go home.. immediately. 🙂

    Like

  2. The Witch says:

    I should have added “Dedicated to homesick nomads”. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

