Home » Poems » The Sari

The Sari

The sari, my mother says,
is the perfect attire.
Made for women
with insecurities
about their curves
or the lack of them
and made for men…
designed and worn
according to their fancies,
appetizing their lusts.

I think about it
as I wrap the red fabric
around my almost perfect waist.
It hides my unshaven legs
and the bruised left arm.
It only reveals
things that are appealing.
Cleavages and belly buttons,
not the heart and gut beneath them.
Only smooth midriffs and dainty feet,
not the weary, neglected legs.
Only smiles and blushes,
not the suffocation and indifference.

I’m sure there’s no heartbreak,
that cannot be buried
under six yards of silk.

7 Comments

  1. Not even sure what that is…oh dear! But I liked this writing a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shalzzz says:

    Totally agree!! 😀 😀 Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Witch says:

    I seriously thought I won’t be able to write poems ever again. I just scribbled this to see how far that ‘gut feeling’ of mine could be true. Thank you, Professor and Shalini, for the confidence boost.:)

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Your words spoke volumes. Keep speaking through your words… Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jmsabbagh says:

    Great expressions.Traditions and mothers some times doesn’t fit the modern society demands.Best regards. Any way Sari is one of the most beautiful attire and culture.Jaalal

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

