Home » Poems » Musings of a Cat

Musings of a Cat

She calls me Cat
and assumes,
on my behalf,
that I don’t need
a name.

She speaks
on behalf of feminists
and says that cats
are more feminine
with feminist attitudes.

She hopes
on behalf of hypocrites
and tells herself
that it is her fondness
that bonds her to me,
not the stereotypical
pathetic connection between
a frightened single woman
and a proud lonely cat.

I sit by her side
and wonder
why I’m called a cat,
while she continues
to speak and do
numerous things
on others’ behalf.

Leave a Reply

