Home » Poems » Witches

Witches

I wonder why Witches
are not hunted
or burned anymore.
They can’t be extinct
for I have encountered
quite a few.

My Mother, for instance
can heal any heartbreak
with carefully brewed potions
of tea and spices
and a kind word or two.

And how can I forget
the enchanting woman
who taught me the art
of drawing out words
out of thin air?

Then there was
the Wise one,
predicting who is capable
of breaking my heart.

I am a Witch too,
with the power to create
people, creatures and cities,
within my head
and making them thrive
with experiences drawn
from a rather dull life.

I wonder why none of us
are hunted or burned.
Perhaps,
calling themselves Feminists
was the wisest thing
Witches ever did…

Leave a Reply

