Home » Bookish Brooding » Re-reading ‘Remember Me?’

Re-reading ‘Remember Me?’

downloadWhen I got acquainted to Sophie Kinsella through Remember Me? I was nineteen; overweight, depressed, broke, ugly and insecure…pretty much like Lexi, the protagonist. I think that’s what made me want to read the book. Before I continue, I would like to confess that I have a habit most readers hate. When I get hold of a book, I first read the synopsis, then the first few pages and then I read the last page. While reading any book, my mind is usually full of predictions about how the story would reach that end and why.

(Spoilers ahead….)

So, the synopsis suggested amnesia and the first few pages described how miserable Lexi was. The last page suggested a practical version of happily ever after. I was intrigued. A series of guesses started running through my head. Now, amnesia is not a theme that is unheard of. There are umpteen number of books and movies in which a perfectly happy world is destroyed because one of the characters meets with an accident and their brains are wiped clean of all the happy memories, altering the course of events that follow. Remember Me? is pretty much the same. Lexi is dumped by a total ass of a boyfriend when she’s already upset about her dad’s death and her cheap heels make her trip and fall down, conveniently hitting her head and passing out. Now, what one would normally expect would be Lexi waking up not knowing who she is or what she is going through. She probably wouldn’t remember that she has been dumped or that her dad has passed away. But when Lexi opens her eyes at a creepily clean hospital, she remembers pretty much everything. She wonders how she would pay the hospital bill and worries because she can’t remember which one of her hideous and scabby underwear she was wearing when the accident happened (which I can totally relate to).

And then it is revealed that she is no more the buck-toothed failure that she was before her dad’s funeral. It has been five years and she is now a successful woman with pearly white teeth in a neat row, a perfect tan, an ideal waistline, designer bags, Armani suits and a handsome billionaire husband. Now, who doesn’t want that? Forgetting the shit one has been through and waking up to a perfect life that would have been brushed off as fantasy five years back? In 2010, I would have given up anything to have what Lexi had.

But then, re-reading the same book now, I connect more with the second part of the story. The part after Lexi wakes up and slowly realizes that her life is not as perfect as it seems. Her husband is a food fascist (I would never ever live with a guy who decides what I should eat!), she is hated by her employees (well, I wouldn’t mind that) and she has a tough time keeping up the ‘idealness’ of her beauty (now that’s something no woman likes to spend time and money on, though not many would admit it) and she’s finally found the love of her life, but is too scared to get a divorce from the jerk she has for a husband.

I think what I liked about the story was the fact that Lexi didn’t continue to be the painted and tainted bitch that she had become in five years’ time. She went back to being herself and started being comfortable in her own skin. I think I’m pretty much like Lexi even now…the mature and happy Lexi at the end of the book.

Leave a Reply

