Home » Poems » The Concealer Stick

The Concealer Stick

I bought a new concealer yesterday.
It came with promises of perfection
and swept my entire life’s savings away…
keeping hidden the marks of rejection.

I bought one a shade lighter than I am.
You see, I have dark circles and a tan,
years of neglect and treatments that were sham…
Scars that came before the CFC ban.

But it makes me look very fair and fake.
I can see the lonely scars peeping through
making me look like an over-iced cake…
the circles under my eyes a light blue.

I broke the new concealer stick today.
To hide scars there must be another way.

 

Leave a Reply

